top of page

'Kong: Skull' Island Film Review


Back in 2014, Gareth Edwards’ ‘Godzilla’ opened the door for a new shared cinematic universe of giant monsters. Though ‘Godzilla’ wasn’t the best movie, the framework was set for what could potentially be something really cool. The second film to continue this new universe is ‘Kong: Skull Island’. The mighty ape himself, King Kong would make his first big-screen appearance since Peter Jackson’s 2005 take.

I had been very excited for this movie, as the trailers and promo spots looked really cool. The look of Kong was incredible. The CG work in this film is top-notch. At no point during this film did I not believe that this giant gorilla was a complete digital projection. The action scenes, especially with Kong, were so much fun to watch. Kong is absolutely brutal and this film did such a great job of representing his bestial rage tapered with moments of subtle responsibility.

John C. Reilly’s character, who has been stranded on the island since WWII, has learned from the island natives about both the island’s and Kong’s history and serves as the audience’s insider for information. Knowing that Kong keeps the “skull crawlers” in check and keeps the animals and inhabitants of the island safe from them adds a layer of depth to Kong’s character. Obviously he would be ticked off at invaders dropping bombs on his island, leading to his attack on the helicopter squadron.

Samuel L. Jackson was really good in this film, as his need for revenge against Kong for killing his men is somewhat justified. And yes, there are a few “classic” Samuel L. moments with some of his dialogue. He is so enveloped in his need for revenge that his judgment is clouded even after John C. Reilly tells him of Kong’s importance. Tom Hiddleston was good and the supporting cast of soldiers was fun. But there’s one issue that will lower my overall score of this film: Brie Larson.

Brie Larson is a phenomenal actress. I just don’t feel like this was the right role for her. I’m leaning towards the script and writing for her character being the issue, as she felt typecast in a female role in an action movie. She “tamed” the beast, was somewhat of a love interest for Tom Hiddleston, and was given a few things to do action-wise. For an Oscar-winning actress to be playing a role like this, I don’t feel like the writers or director Jordan Vogt-Roberts did her any favors. I would much rather have seen her take on more of a leadership role as the only female amongst a group of Army soldiers, but that’s just my opinion. I don’t think she was bad by any means, but I think her writing could’ve been better, especially as she is set to play Captain Marvel soon.

There were also some nods to the connection with the new shared universe, with references like the nuclear testing, MUTOs, and the end-credit scene. Overall, I really enjoyed this film. The action was exhilarating, the comedic moments were well-timed, and the world of Skull Island was really cool to explore. I’m very much looking forward to the big matchup between Kong and Godzilla, and I think I might put my money on Kong as the winner.

My rating: 8 out of 10

bottom of page