top of page

'Vice Principals' Season 1 Episode 1 Review


Look, if you were expecting something different from an HBO comedy series starring Danny McBride, 'Vice Principals' clearly isn't for you.

I've heard a lot of bashing on the show, and after watching the first episode, if you're complaining about it, you're dumb. Sure, Danny McBride's character is a cookie-cutter version of his persona of Kenny Powers from 'Eastbound and Down' (another HBO series of his) or anything you've seen him in, but that's his thing. And he does his thing very well.

This isn't a show that I will review on a week-to-week basis, but I'll certainly re-cap the season once it is over.

I loved the first episode. It was pretty much what I expected and I'm perfectly content with it. I was cracking up throughout the entirety of the episode and am a huge Danny McBride fan. Don't sleep on him in 'Alien: Covenant', as I feel like he does have that dark intensity to play a role outside of his wheelhouse.

His vice principal character makes for a great comedic platform, as his interactions with the school staff and student body makes for great comedic potential.

Hilarious.

My rating: 10 out of 10

bottom of page