top of page

'Preacher' Season 1 Episode 5 Review


If you've been keeping up with my 'Preacher' reviews, you may be wondering "Where was the review for episode 4?" To be honest, episode four was another dull episode for me and I just didn't have it in me to review it. There were some aspects of the episode that were OK, but in all I just didn't care for it. Eugene's mistreatment was horrible to watch and the angels really found themselves in hot water, but I just didn't understand what was going on with the mayor and Quincannon.

After checking out episode 5, I once again got back on track with liking the show.

The opening scene of episode 5 was hands down the best scene of the series. The angels and Jesse fighting the seraphim was incredible and hilarious. Seeing them constantly killing each other and coming back in new bodies was ridiculous and a lot of fun.

I really enjoyed the angels' explanation of the spirit inside Jesse, calling it "Genesis". Jesse is being changed by Genesis, as he is growing more power hungry in his attempt to save the town. The fact that he can command the angels as well as people shows just how powerful he is and how important it is that it doesn't fall into the wrong hands.

The Jesse/Tulip/Cassidy love triangle is sure to come to a head, as Cassidy and Tulip had relations last week. If Jesse finds out, I don't have high hopes for Cassidy. And by the way, Jesse LITERALLY SENT EUGENE TO HELL!

The show is so up and down, but when it hits it hits big. The pure absurdness of some of the events is so much fun that I can't help coming back even after not enjoying an episode here or there.

My rating: 8 out of 10

bottom of page