top of page

'Preacher' Season 1 Episode 4 Review


After really liking last week's episode, I've equally disliked this week's. Once again, the show got back to off-beat storytelling that really isn't adding up and is just taking up space.

I don't understand what Tulip's story was really about. As one of the "residents" of the whorehouse in which Tulip resides in accidentally dies after falling into a sinkhole while being "hunted" by men with paint ball guns. The whole thing involving the mayor and the man intimidating him just didn't fit within this episode.

My reasoning behind this thinking is that it really took away from Jessie's plot. We got to see his dad in flashbacks, molding Jessie into the man he would eventually become as he was a young kid. But after that, we got a few clips of him talking to Cassidy about the angels and his plan to get more church members. The sermon he gave during Sunday mass was intense, as he eventually manipulated the man he set out to.

Cassidy, again, was great. His interactions with Jessie and the angels, being used as a "middle man", were fun, especially when the angels told him how they would get the spirit back.

I feel like the episode was just all over the place. I think it's trying to do too much too soon, giving 3 main characters almost equal screen time. I think they'd be better served focusing on Jessie more and sprinkling in the side characters here and there. There are just too many scenes that just don't work for me and just seem to take up time. I got caught off guard when I noticed that the episode was almost over because the ending just started to actually get interesting.

I really hope next week turns me around. I do have a bunch of comics and I think I'll read at least a few of them this week, but I shouldn't have to read them to understand the show. That's a sign of poor story-telling, in my opinion.

My rating: 5 out of 10

bottom of page