top of page

'The Conjuring 2' Movie Review


Last night, I got to attend an early screening of 'The Conjuring 2'. As it doesn't come out yet for another few days, I'll avoid spoilers.

For a sequel, especially a horror sequel, this film did a great job of maintaining a level of discomfort throughout. I enjoyed how the "jump scares" weren't the main sell, but the overall tone was disconcerting. Director James Wan did a great job of using the environment as a character and didn't have to rely too heavily on "jump scares".

Vera Farmiga and Patrick Wilson are once again great as Ed and Lorraine Warren. I love how they don't come off as kooks and know-it-alls. They are genuinely out to help people in need, this time flying all the way to England. The struggles they go through during the case and in their own personal lives really make their characters believable.

The twist of the film is refreshing in a sense that it made sure this film wasn't your paint by numbers ghost story, it had more depth to it. The Warrens brought a sense of calm and heart to the situation they are called in on.

The actors who play the family plagued by ghostly problems did a great job in selling their roles, you genuinely felt the terror they were living with. Trying to imagine something like that actually happening is terrifying.

The ending was probably the weakest part of the film, for me, though overall it didn't take me out of the film. My biggest gripe was actually the woman that I got the displeasure of having to sit next to in the theatre that decided she needed to narrate the movie to her friend, but I digress.

My rating: 8 out of 10

bottom of page