top of page

John Carpenter Joins New 'Halloween' Production


During a Q&A with Jason Blum of Blumhouse along with executives from Miramax, the group announced a new 'Halloween' film, according to Collider.

Whether or not the film will be a sequel or a reboot wasn't described, but one important detail was confirmed in that John Carpenter will be on as executive producer and may possibly be scoring the film as well.

Carpenter was quoted as saying:

“We’re probably going to go back to the original traditions that we started with early on. It’s kind of gone astray a little bit. I thought maybe the remakes went off somewhere that I didn’t want ‘em to go. Michael Myers is not a character. He is a force of nature. He is not a person. He is part supernatural, part human. He’s like the wind. He’s an evil wind. When you start straying away from that and you get into explaining, you’re lost. So hopefully we can guide it back in that direction.”

In talking about the direction of the film, Blum said:

“We’re not being vague because we know and we’re not telling. We’re being vague because we don’t know. We’re talking about different things. But I do feel like all of us kind of want to go back to that – I don’t know. I’m going out on a limb here. Malek, you guys tell me if you disagree – I don’t think we want to make it too meta, you know what I mean? We want to make it like it was – back to the basics – and not get into too much backstory which we don’t need.”

bottom of page