top of page

"11.22.63" Series Review


The other day, I stumbled upon this mini-series. I had heard of the book but hadn't read it. My fiance had read it and enjoyed it and was excited to watch the show. This 8-episode series starring James Franco was fun, enjoyable and really got my imagination working.

Much like other shows/movies dealing with time travel, the human mind begins to wonder "What would happen if I could go back in time and change the past?". We've heard about the 'butterfly effect', in terms of changing one thing and having negative consequences result. '11.22.63' did a remarkable job in dealing with this issue, as our main character 'Jake' (Franco) is tasked with going back in the past to 1960 through a wormhole in a local diner to ultimately stop the assassination of JFK.

Jake's "time mentor", Al (Chris Cooper), warns Jake on the dangers of changing past events and has spent his own life trying many times to save JFK but has failed every time.

Jake travels south to ultimately reach Texas to stop Lee Harvey Oswald (Daniel Webber) from assassinating the president, and develops relationships with Bill (George MacKay) and a love interest in Sadie (Sarah Gadon).

Without getting too much into spoilers, it was really cool how the changing of the past ultimately effected the future when Jake finally does go back. The ending was bittersweet, yet satisfying. The show did a good job of wrapping the series up in the finale.

I really enjoyed the characters in this show, the acting was very good and it kept my interest throughout the series. I now plan on picking up the book of the same title by Stephen King.

My score: 8 out of 10

bottom of page